Howard, John Winston

John Winston Howard (Courtesy of AUSPIC)

John Howard was the Member for Bennelong (New South Wales) from May 1974 until he lost his seat in the federal election of 24 November 2007. He became Deputy Leader of the Liberal Party in April 1982 and during the Hawke and Keating governments he was twice Leader of the Opposition (1984–89, 1995–96). Howard became Prime Minister in 1996 and remained in the position until 2007, when his government was defeated in the election.


Australia’s Prime Ministers – John Howard

John Howard collection

Original records in the National Archives' John Howard collection are now accessible to researchers in the John Howard Reading Room at the Academy Library at UNSW Canberra.

The John Howard collection covers his entire political career, from 1974.  But only those records that have entered the open access period as defined by the Archives Act 1983 are currently available for public access. The John Howard prime ministerial papers will become available on 1 January 2019, with the complete papers accessible in 2028.

John Howard was awarded an honorary degree from UNSW in 2013 (Doctor of Laws honoris causa) for significant service to the nation as Treasurer and the 25th Prime Minister of Australia (1996–2007).

See New home for John Howard collection at UNSW

    Copyright National Archives of Australia 2019