2017 Awards for Digital Excellence

Awards for Digital Excellence

Applications are now invited for the 2017 National Archives Awards for Digital Excellence.

The awards recognise and promote excellence and innovation in the management, use and reuse of digital information by Australian Government agencies.

The winners will be chosen from case studies that showcase significant progress towards Digital Continuity 2020.

The National Archives reserves the right to edit and publish award submissions.


  • Applications will be accepted from Australian Commonwealth agencies that have completed their 2016 Check-up Digital submission
  • Applications must document a case study that addresses the criteria below.


Awards will be given for case studies which best demonstrate some or all of the following criteria:

  • progress towards Digital Continuity 2020, such as the establishment of an Information Governance Committee, and completion of an Information Governance Framework.
  • transformation to digital services for better user / client experience
  • improved agency accountability through information management
  • effective communications to promote the value of information assets
  • innovative use of technology or other solutions to enhance information management
  • improvement in digital information management with limited resources
  • evidence of building a culture that values digital information.

Award categories

Awards will be offered in three categories: agencies with up to 200 staff; agencies with between 200 and 1,000 staff; and agencies of over 1,000 staff.

Additionally, a new category is available to recognise an outstanding individual within the Australian Public Service who has championed information management reform within the Commonwealth.


Applications are in the form of a case study (maximum of 1,000 words), using the application template provided and are to include:

  • a suitable title for case study (short is good)
  • a summary or abstract to be used for a printed booklet at the awards presentation
  • description of the agency and working environment (agency overview)
  • the background and objectives of the project
  • the reasons for the project
  • how the project was carried out
  • evidence of the project outcomes and benefits
  • clear messages on how they address information management and information governance.

Applications should link the agency's achievements to accepted standards or best practice, whether in Australia or overseas.

Please download the application template (docx, 168kB)

Applications should be submitted to agencytraining@naa.gov.au by cob 28 February 2017.

Contact us

For further information about the awards, including eligibility and nominations, please contact agencytraining@naa.gov.au

Copyright National Archives of Australia 2017