'Statute of Westminster Adoption Act 1942 (Cth)'

'Statute of Westminster Adoption Act 1942 (Cth)'

The British Parliament passed the Statute of Westminster in 1931 to clarify its relationship with a number of its former colonies. Over time, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Eire and Newfoundland had all become independent of Britain, but this independence had never been defined in law.

In 1942 the Australian Parliament finally adopted the relevant provisions of the Statute by passing this Act, defining itself as free and equal in status to the government of Britain.

Information about the history and significance of this document, including a transcript, can be found on the Documenting a Democracy website.

This record can be viewed in the National Archives RecordSearch database.

Copyright National Archives of Australia 2019